Homemade Pizza

I had two eggplant and two capsicum that were on their deathbeds and a serious pizza craving. My favourite pizza is of a Mediterranean inspired variety – its basically a health food…

I’ve never made my own pizza dough before but heard it was pretty easy. I found a great dough recipe and used some common sense then before to long I had a super satisfying pizza!

I cut up my capsicum and eggplant into pizza sized pieces and roasted them at 180 degrees for around half an hour then started making the dough, using:

  • 3 cups of flour
  • 1/3 cup of yeast
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup of semi boiled water (not boiled)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oi

In large bowl, combine flour, yeast, and salt. Add warm water and olive oil, knead about 5 minutes or until mixture is well combined and forms a ball. Let dough sit for 10 minutes in a warm place – I should look something like this!

2016-09-21-18-00-47

I rolled it out flat and achieved a really bad shape so I pulled in the edges to the centre and rolled out the from there to achieve a shape closer to a circle. Fit to pizza pan, I used baking paper. Place in oven and bake for approximately 10 minutes or until very slightly browned. By this time the roast vegetables should be cooked too. I tried my best but not even I could fit two eggplant on a pizza. I stood and ate the excess straight from the tray – bliss.

Remove both base and toppings from oven and let cool. Add tomato paste (I forgot minced garlic – shattered) then roast vegetables and other pizza toppings of your choice. I had some olives in the pantry and added those kalamata olives are tastiest, just make such you take the pip out) and some dried oregano. If you’ve got a vegan cheese handy – don’t hold back!

Return pizza to oven and bake approximately 10-20 minutes depending of the awesomeness of your oven. This took about 70 minutes total but in that time I also did dishes and cleaned my room – its not a very demanding dinner. And you can be assured that your meal hasn’t been cross contaminated with any meat or cheese!

Cool, slice, and serve!

2016-09-21-19-03-46

P.S pineapple definitely belongs on pizza.

Pizza out,

Meg x

Resources

http://www.food.com/recipe/vegan-pizza-dough-10579

Leave a Reply

